Board of Directors     |      Senior Management

Board of Directors

James Mellon
- Non-Executive Chairman
Jamie Alexander Gibson
- Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer
C. David Andrew Comba
- Independent Non-Executive Director
Julie Oates
- Independent Non-Executive Director
Stawell Mark Searle
- Independent Non-Executive Director
Jayne Allison Sutcliffe
- Non-Executive Director

Stawell Mark Searle (alias: Sam Searle)
Independent Non-Executive Director

Stawell Mark Searle, British, has been an Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company since October 2001. He has over 30 years’ experience in the investment management industry. Having trained with Jardine Matheson, the Far Eastern trading house in London, he was seconded to Samuel Montagu where he worked for two years in their Investment Department. Subsequently, Mr Searle joined Investment Intelligence Limited becoming Investment Director responsible for management of a stable of open ended funds. Between 1982 and 1987, he was Managing Director of Richards Longstaff Limited, a privately owned investment consultancy. In the following ten years, he was Investment Director of Gerrard Asset Management. Mr Searle has been a director of a number of closed-ended funds during his career.




Senior Management

David Samuel Church, LLB, BEc
Head of Mergers and Acquisitions and General Counsel

David joined the Group in 2008. He is also director of a number of subsidiaries of the Group. David has more than 19 years’ experience in mergers and acquisitions and corporate finance in Australia, the UK, Europe and Asia with expertise across multiple sections. David has worked on domestic and international corporate transactions as well as major international equity offerings for corporates and investment banks. He has over 13 years’ experience in Asia including transactions in Hong Kong, Korea, the PRC, Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia and the Philippines. David has acted and advised on some of the most high profile M&A transactions in Europe and Asia. He is qualified and has practiced as a solicitor in Australia, with Clayton Utz, and in the UK and Hong Kong, with Linklaters.
  Paul Eric Jones, BA, MBA
Investment Director

Paul has 30 years of experience in the energy industry and corporate finance. This has included various professional disciplines encompassing fund management, banking and business development. Before joining the Group in April 2011, Paul was employed for six years with a Canadian private equity fund, where he was principally engaged in evaluating investment opportunities on behalf of the firm’s investors and managing a portfolio of public and private securities. Prior thereto, Paul was a Director in the energy lending group at the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC) where he specialised in debt financing and providing advisory services to oil and gas producers. Previous to his banking career, Paul was a financial analyst with TC Energy Corp. (a Canadian power generation and energy transmission company), where he was responsible for initiatives related to bond issuance, project finance, capital budgeting and investor relations. Paul holds a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Business Administration (Finance), both from the University of Calgary.


Professor Michael Grant Wyllie, BSc, PhD, DSc
Chief Scientific Officer

Prof Wyllie has particular responsibility for the process of securing approvals of the product, regulatory compliance and assisting the Chief Executive Officer in the commercial development of Fortacin™ of Plethora Solutions Holdings plc (“Plethora”). Prof Wyllie is a co-founder of Plethora. He has over 30 years of experience in senior management level positions within the pharmaceutical industry, with Wyeth and Pfizer. He has considerable hands-on experience in all aspects of the drug discovery and development process, and has been involved with new project inception, drug discovery and safety testing, early and late stage clinical development, regulatory filing, and the successful commercialisation of products, including Cardura® (doxazosin), Enablex® (darifenacin)and Viagra® (sildenafil). Prof Wyllie sits on the Clinical Trial Design and Future Therapies in BPH Committees of the World Health Organisation International Consultations on Urological Disease and the International Advisory Panel to The University of Strathclyde. He is an assistant editor of the British Journal of Urology in the Sexual Medicine Section. He has over 200 publications and is the named inventor of over 80 patents.